Controlling Ableton Live with a Mandala Drum and Pure Data

Here’s a video I put together describing how you can modulate parameters in Ableton Live using the radial MIDI control signal from a Mandala Drum via Pure Data.

About morganhendry

I have been a musician and rocket scientist since 4th grade. I play drums/keyboards for the LA based instrumental rock band Beware of Safety (www.bewareofsafety.com), write electronic music as The Laterite Road (www.thelateriteroad.com), and just landed something on Mars (mars.jpl.nasa.gov). More info can be found at my website (www.morganhendry.com). Sign up here for updates on my many projects: http://morganhendry.fanbridge.com/
This entry was posted in Music Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Controlling Ableton Live with a Mandala Drum and Pure Data

  1. damian says:

    Having read your blog ‘Adding an Electronics Rig to an Acoustic Drum Set’ ( which i enjoyed ) you mentioned latency lag issues related to Ableton live. I was curious as to weather you still experience this, now you are on Live 9?
    I am trying to gauge weather its worth the leap from live 8 myself.
    I have had continual issues both on macbook and iMac – originally thinking it was my Presonus FS Mobile. Hard reset never fixed my problems though. Basically it would insert a ‘Latency ghost’ into the live set permanently after 2-3 hours of use. The only fix was to start over again. Instantly resolved on a new set, back again if i opened the problem set.

    • morganhendry says:

      Unfortunately I haven’t gotten to the bottom of this. Having switched to Mandala drums, I find this happens a lot less, and never permanently (that I remember). It was a different story with the Alesis TriggerIO I was using before. Definitely hit the permanent latency bug a few times. I would love to resolve some of this with the Ableton folks. Drop me a line at morganhendryaudio (at) Gmail if you want to talk more.

Leave a Reply

