My First Film Score?

A couple of months ago I was asked if I would be interested in scoring a short horror film titled Perfect.  I’m not terribly familiar with the genre (outside of sci-fi crossovers like the Alien series), so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I read the script and immediately any doubts in the project were allayed.  I was really impressed with the tensions, twists, and humor moments that came across in the story.

Immediately I started thinking about what I might be able to bring to the project.  Initial discussions with the director pointed me towards brooding music (check) with dark, ominous drones (check) and solo piano (check).  Granted that could all change when the final cut arrives.  Anyone have John Williams’ number on hand?

Regardless, the project is finally ramping up with a Kickstarter campaign to raise the necessary funds.  The fear has already started kicking in…

Check out Matt Mowrer’s Kickstarter video below and consider making a contribution if this is something you’d like to see.

About morganhendry

I have been a musician and rocket scientist since 4th grade. I play drums/keyboards for the LA based instrumental rock band Beware of Safety (www.bewareofsafety.com), write electronic music as The Laterite Road (www.thelateriteroad.com), and just landed something on Mars (mars.jpl.nasa.gov). More info can be found at my website (www.morganhendry.com). Sign up here for updates on my many projects: http://morganhendry.fanbridge.com/
This entry was posted in Music for Moving Pictures, The Laterite Road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

